Deck hand - Helms (man-woman) - Boatswain

Testimonial

Navigating on board a Coast Guard vessel brought me the opportunity to go to places very few people have a chance to visit. When you arrive in Eureka, close to the polar ice cap, the immensity of this unhabited territory is breath taking. My trade allowed me to realise my dream: visit the Arctic. If you have a taste for adventure, discovery of new horizons and meeting other cultures, the Canadian Coast Guard is the employer for you.
Deck hand

Maude Perreault, Deck hand
CCGS Des Groseilliers

Deck Hand

On board a vessel, the deck equipments must be safe, maintained and ready to be used at any moment. Thus, the Deck Hand's role is important since he is the person ensuring the deck equipment operational status by maintaining them (winches, windlass, cabstans, hatches, cables, etc.) used for the vessel manoeuver and mooring.

Deck Hands are involved in most of the vessel operations and their service is essential on every Coast Guard ship. They participate to the cargo loading, unloading and handling.

Their services are also required during the seasonal buoy tending operations. On some occasions, the Deck Hand may be required to operate the ship's windlass.

During search and rescue operations, the Deck Hand may be assigned to participate in the operations as a look-out on board the ship or helicopter.

Some Deck Hands can also be part of the fire fighting teams as fire fighters or assistants.

The Deck Hand's services are also required during operations requiring the use of small crafts, for example, for transportation of merchandises or to oversee fuel transfer operations. Deck Hands also board the helicopter in order to assist the technicians on navigational aids land sites.

The Deck Hand also executes various maintenance tasks aboard the ship, such as cleaning and painting works, etc.

Deck Hands

Deck Hands
Buoy tending operations

Deck Hands

Deck Hands
Fire fighting equipment

Boatswain

As a Boatswain, you have the responsibility to ensure that all deck operations unfold safely and in conformance with the Chief Officer's directions. You are also in constant communication with the wheelhouse.

The success of operations as important as the buoys tending operations, the loading and unloading of cargo, etc. depend in great part upon the Boatswain and his deck crew team.

The cargo handling, by nature, is a high accident potential activity. The Boatswain and Deck Hands must be cautious and use proper work mehods, more so, when the weather conditions worsen: winds, high waves, etc.

When operations allow it, the Boatswain assigns staff to ensure that the inside of the ship is clean. In doing so, the safety of the deck as well as the well-being of the crew are under his responsibility.

When operations allow it, the Boatswain assigns staff to ensure that the inside of the ship is clean. In doing so, the safety of the deck as well as the well-being of the crew are under his responsibility.

Boatswain

Pierre Vallières
Boatswain
CCGS Des Groseilliers

Helms (man-woman)

The Helms (man-woman) executes his shift in the wheelhouse. His responsibilities include steering the ship as per the Navigation Officer's instructions. He is responsible to ensure that the ship holds its bearing. The helms man is also responsible for reporting any objects hindering the navigation or any anomaly in the navigation equipment such as the gyrocompas, magnetic compas or steering system problems.

As helms (man-woman), you also act as look-out in the wheelhouse. The look-out is a person placed on a vessel to observe the ship's environment. The look-out does visual and auditive observations to ensure the knowledge of any conditions surrounding the ship, for example: shipwrecked persons, vessels, ice, reefs. History has shown that it is a good habit to keep a sharp look-out whenever a ship is at sea.

The helms (man-woman) will sometimes be assigned to operate small crafts (zodiac, barge). He may also be assigned to operate the winches, for example, during cargo loading and unloading operations. He can also replace the boatswain, when required.

Helms man

Thierry Alamy
Helms man
CCGS Des Groseilliers

Helms man

Daniel Gosselin
Helms man
CCGS Des Groseilliers

What academic training and professional development do I need for a Deck Hand position?

  • Marine Emergency Duty training :
    • Basic security STCW (60h);
    • Lifeboats and liferafts exploitation competency (28h);
  • Sea time with apprenticeship on board in order to meet Transport Canada exam requirements and advance to other positions.

Where can I study?

  • Institut maritime du Québec offers Marine Emergency Duty training in Lévis (Québec Area).

What are my career opportunities?

  • Boatswain;
  • Navigation Officer;
  • Various positions within the Federal Public Services.

What qualities and interests are essential?

  • Enjoy team work;
  • Be in good physical condition;
  • Aptitude for manual work;
  • Resourcefulness and initiative;
  • Able to work irregular schedules;
  • Taste for adventure and travel!

Average initial annual income: 45 000 $ to 55 000 $

Salary varies according to position and time worked. Most Coast Guard crews work a schedule called lay-day, or a period of 14 to 42 days at sea, followed by equivalent time off with pay.

For more information

Matelot de pont - Maître d'équipage - Timonier

Témoignage

Naviguer à bord d'un navire de la Garde côtière me procure l'opportunité d'aller à des endroits que bien peu de gens ont la chance de voir. Quand on se retrouve à Eureka, près de la calotte polaire, l'immensité de ce territoire inhabité est impressionnante. Mon métier m'a permis de réaliser mon rêve: voir l'Arctique. Si vous avez le goût de l'aventure, de découvrir de nouveaux horizons et de connaître d'autres cultures, la Garde côtière canadienne est un bon employeur pour vous.
Matelot de pont

Maude Perreault
Matelot
NGCC Des Groseilliers

Matelot de pont

Sur un navire, les équipements de pont doivent être sécuritaires, entretenus et toujours prêts à être utilisés. Le rôle du matelot de pont est donc important puisque c’est lui qui s’assure de leur bon fonctionnement en faisant l’entretien des équipements de pont (treuils, grues, cabestans, écoutilles, câbles, etc.) servant aux manœuvres et à l’amarrage du navire.

Les matelots de pont sont impliqués dans la plupart des opérations du navire et leurs services sont essentiels sur tous les navires de la Garde côtière. Ils participent aux opérations de chargement et de déchargement de la cargaison ainsi qu’à sa manutention.

Leurs services sont aussi requis lors de la pose et l’enlèvement des bouées. à l’occasion, on peut demander au matelot d’opérer la grue du navire.

Lors d’un cas de recherche et sauvetage, il arrive qu’un matelot soit appelé à participer aux recherches comme vigie à bord du navire ou de l’hélicoptère. Certains peuvent aussi faire partie des équipes de combat d’incendie, comme pompier ou assistant.

De plus, on a recours aux services du matelot lors des opérations requérant la mise à l’eau et l’utilisation de plus petites embarcations, par exemple, pour le transport de marchandises ou pour la surveillance du transfert de carburant. En outre, les matelots embarquent à bord de l’hélicoptère afin d’assister les techniciens sur les sites terrestres d’aides à la navigation.

Le matelot de pont exécute également divers travaux d’entretien à bord des navires: peinture, nettoyage, etc.

Matelots de pont

Matelots de pont
Opérations de balisage

Matelot de pont

Matelot de pont
équipement de combat d'incendies

Maître d'équipage

En tant que maître d’équipage, c’est vous qui avez la responsabilité de voir à ce que les opérations sur le pont se déroulent de façon sécuritaire et en conformité avec les directives du chef officier. Aussi, vous êtes constamment en communication avec la timonerie.

La réussite des opérations aussi importantes que la pose et l’enlèvement des bouées ainsi que le chargement et le déchargement de cargaison dépend en grande partie du maître d’équipage et de son équipe.

La manutention de cargaison, de par sa nature même, est une activité à haut potentiel d’accident. Le maître d’équipage et les matelots doivent faire preuve de prudence et avoir de bonnes méthodes de travail, d’autant plus lorsque les conditions météorologiques se détériorent: vent, houle, etc.

Lorsque les opérations le permettent, le maître d’équipage assigne du personnel afin de faire en sorte que l’intérieur du navire soit propre. Ainsi, tant la sécurité des opérations de pont que le bien-être de l’équipage sont de son ressort.

Maître d'équipage

Pierre Vallières
Maître d'équipage
NGCC Des Groseilliers

Timonier

Le timonier (ou homme de roue) fait des quarts à la passerelle de navigation. Ses fonctions sont de gouverner le navire selon les instructions de l’officier de navigation. Le timonier est responsable de s’assurer que le navire tient bien son cap. De plus, il rapporte tout obstacle à la navigation ou anomalie aux équipements de navigation, tels que le gyrocompas, le compas magnétique ou la barre du navire.

À titre de timonier, vous aurez également la responsabilité d’agir comme vigie à la passerelle de navigation. La vigie est une personne de veille placée en observation à bord du navire. La vigie doit assurer une surveillance visuelle et auditive périphérique pour garantir la connaissance de toutes les conditions, par exemple naufragés, navires, glace, récifs, etc. L’expérience nous a démontré qu’il peut être gratifiant de maintenir une vigie efficace.

De plus, le timonier sera parfois assigné à la conduite des petites embarcations (zodiac, barge). à l’occasion, c’est lui qui sera désigné pour opérer la grue du navire. Lorsque requis, on demandera au timonier de prêter main forte aux matelots, par exemple lors du chargement ou déchargement de cargaison. Il peut aussi remplacer le maître d’équipage au besoin.

Timonier

Thierry Alamy
Timonier
NGCC Des Groseilliers

Timonier

Daniel Gosselin
Timonier
NGCC Des Groseilliers

Quel cheminement scolaire ou professionnel dois-je suivre pour un poste de matelot de pont?

  • Réussir un cours de formation aux mesures d'urgence en mer contenant deux volets :
    • Sécurité de base STCW (60h)
    • Aptitude à l'exploitation des bateaux de sauvetage et canots de secours (28h)
  • Le matelot de pont / timonier acquiert du temps de mer tout en réalisant son apprentissage à bord. Par la suite, il peut répondre aux exigences de Transports Canada et progresser vers d'autres postes.

Où puis-je étudier?

  • L’Institut maritime du Québec offre la formation aux mesures d'urgence en mer à Lévis (région de Québec).

Quelles sont mes possibilités de carrière?

  • Maître d'équipage;
  • Officier de navigation;
  • Divers postes dans la Fonction publique fédérale.

Quels qualités et intérêts sont essentiels?

  • Aimer le travail d’équipe;
  • Être en bonne forme physique;
  • Aimer le travail manuel;
  • Avoir le sens de la débrouillardise et de l'initiative;
  • Être capable de travailler selon des horaires irréguliers;
  • Et Évidemment, avoir le goût de l'aventure et des voyages!

Revenu annuel de base: 45 000 $ à 55 000 $

Le salaire évolue selon le grade obtenu et le temps travaillé. La majeure partie des équipages de la Garde côtière canadienne travaillent suivant un horaire dit de jours de relâche, soit une période de 14 à 42 jours en mer, suivie d’une période de repos équivalente, sans perte de rémunération.

Pour en savoir plus