Fisheries and Oceans Canada | Pêches et Océans Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Canadian Coast Guard Fleet - Quebec Region

CCGS Amundsen

CCGS Amundsen - Click to enlarge CCGS Amundsen
Source: Canadian Coast Guard


The CCGS Amundsen is based in Québec. She is one of the few Canadian Coast Guard vessels to have a dual purpose. Every summer, the Amundsen is charted by a scientific consortium. In winter, the vessel takes part in the Coast Guard's icebreaking operations. The size of her crew depends on the type of mission and the area to which she is deployed.

In winter, the Amundsen takes part in flood control, icebreaking and ship escort operations in the Gulf of St.Lawrence, the St.Lawrence River and the Saguenay Fjord. In spring, she can be called on to provide the same services in the St.Lawrence Seaway and on the Great Lakes.

Every summer, the Amundsen resumes her research vessel operations and makes her way to the Canadian Arctic to conduct a wide variety of scientific missions. In 2003, the vessel was overhauled and fitted with more sophisticated research equipment and infrastructure, including 12 laboratories, a multibeam sounder, a moon pool, 2 A-frames, 3 acoustic wells, and a conference room.

The Amundsen's electric diesel engines, which generate 11 155 kW, and the adjusted shape of its hull enable her to navigate at 3 knots in ice that is one metre thick. The vessel was designed to have great autonomy at sea, she can carry sufficient provisions for 140 days and enough fuel to travel 15 000 nautical miles at cruising speed. In addition to her high-tech navigation and communication equipment, the Amundsen can accommodate a helicopter.

Thanks to her skilled crew and highly sophisticated equipment, the Amunsden can at all times be deployed to take part in search and rescue, pollution control, fishing monitoring and national security operations, or any other mission to serve Canadians.

For more information concerning the scientific missions on board the Amundsen, please visit the ArcticNet Internet site from Laval University on the Network of Centres of Excellence of Canada


Characteristics

Type
Arctic Icebreaker
Length
98,33 m
Breadth
19,51 m
Draft
7,18 m
Gross Tonnage
5 911 tm
Power
10 142 kW
Maximum speed
16 knots
Cruising speed
12 knots
Core crew
31
Builder
Burrard Dry Docks Co. Ltd., Vancouver, B.C.
Year Built
1979
Modernized
2003 - Québec and Les Méchins, Qc

Flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne au Québec

NGCC Amundsen

NGCC Amundsen - Cliquez pour agrandir NGCC Amundsen
Source : Garde côtière canadienne

Le NGCC Amundsen est basé à Québec. Il est un des rares navires de la Garde côtière canadienne à avoir une double vocation. Chaque été, il est affrété par un consortium scientifique et l’hiver il est assigné au service de déglaçage de la Garde côtière canadienne. Son équipage varie en fonction du type de mission et du secteur d’affectation.

Pendant la saison hivernale, le Amundsen est affecté au contrôle des inondations, au déglaçage et à l’escorte des navires dans le golfe et sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, ainsi que dans le fjord du Saguenay.

Tous les étés, il reprend sa vocation de navire de recherche et se rend dans l’Arctique canadien afin d’y effectuer des missions scientifiques des plus diverses. En 2003, le navire a subi de profondes modifications afin de le doter des équipements et infrastructures les plus sophistiqués dans le domaine. Entre autres, 12 laboratoires, un sondeur multifaisceaux, un puits de lancement, deux portiques, trois puits acoustiques et une salle de conférences y ont été installés.

Les 11 155 kW de sa propulsion diesel électrique ainsi que la forme adaptée de sa coque lui permettent d’avancer à une vitesse de 3 noeuds dans les glaces d’un mètre d’épaisseur. Le Amundsen est conçu pour avoir une grande autonomie en mer. En effet, il peut transporter assez de vivres et de carburant pour parcourir une distance de 15 000 milles nautiques en vitesse de croisières et naviguer jusqu'à 140 jours en mer sans ravitaillement. Il est muni des équipements de navigation et de communications à la fine pointe de la technologie et peut aussi accueillir un hélicoptère.

Le personnel qualifié et l’équipement hautement sophistiqué du Amundsen le rendent apte à participer en tout temps à des interventions de recherche et de sauvetage, de contrôle de la pollution, de vérification des activités de pêche, de sécurité nationale ou de tout autre tâche au service de la population canadienne.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les missions scientifiques à bord du navire Amundsen, visitez le site internet Arcticnet de l'Université Laval sur le Réseau de centres d'excellence du Canada.

Caractéristiques

Type
Brise-glace arctique
Longueur
98,33 m
Largeur
19,51 m
Tirant d'eau en charge
7,18 m
Jauge brute
5 911 tm
Puissance
10 142 kW
Vitesse maximale
16 noeuds
Vitesse de croisière
12 noeuds
Équipage de base
31
Constructeur
Burrard Dry Docks co. ltd., Vancouver, C.-B.
Construction
1979
Modernisé
2003 - Québec et Les Méchins, Qc