Canadian Coast Guard Fleet in Quebec

CCGS Caporal Kaeble V.C.

CCGS Caporal Kaeble V.C. - Click to enlarge CCGS Caporal Kaeble V.C.
Source: Canadian Coast Guard

CCGS Caporal Kaeble V.C. honours the memory of Joseph-Thomas Kaeble, Royal 22e Régiment Corporal, who died in combat in 1918. He was posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross (V.C.), the most prestigious award for military valour a Canadian can receive.

The Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) is commemorating this hero by naming its new mid-shore patrol vessel the CCGS Caporal Kaeble V.C. Mainly used as part of a joint program with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), the patrol vessel enhances security and safety along the St. Lawrence River, as well as in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, the St. Lawrence Seaway and the Great Lakes.

With a capacity of up to 14 crew members, including 5 RCMP officers, her endurance at sea is 14 days on a course of 2 000 nautical miles. While on missions, the CCG is responsible for vessel operations and the RCMP is responsible for all enforcement activities.

Based in Québec, this vessel is equipped with two rigid hull inflatable boats for marine security response, as well as a Zodiac, which will be used for search and rescue operations.

Characteristics

Type
Mid-shore Patrol Vessel
Length
42.8 m
Beam
7.3 m
Draft
2.5 m
Displacement
267 mt
Power
4 930 kW
Maximum speed
25 knots
Cruising speed
14 knots
Crew
14
Builder
Irving Shipbuilding Inc., N.S.
Year Built
2012

Flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne au Québec

NGCC Caporal Kaeble V.C.

NGCC Caporal Kaeble V.C. - Cliquez pour agrandir NGCC Caporal Kaeble V.C.
Source : Garde côtière canadienne

Le NGCC Caporal Kaeble V.C. honore la mémoire de Joseph-Thomas Kaeble, caporal du Royal 22e Régiment, décédé au combat en 1918. La Croix de Victoria (V.C.), la décoration la plus prestigieuse pour bravoure militaire que peut obtenir un Canadien, lui a été décernée à titre posthume.

La Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) se souvient de ce héros en nommant son nouveau patrouilleur semi-hauturier le NGCC Caporal Kaeble V.C. Principalement utilisé dans le cadre d’un programme conjoint avec la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), le patrouilleur contribue à augmenter la sécurité et la sûreté du fleuve et du golfe du Saint-Laurent, de la Voie Maritime ainsi que des Grands Lacs.

Pouvant accueillir jusqu’à 14 membres d’équipage, dont cinq officiers de la GRC, son autonomie en mer est de 14 jours sur un parcours de 2 000 milles marins. Lors de ses missions, la GCC est chargée de l’opération du navire et la GRC est responsable de toutes les activités liées à l’application de la loi.

Ce navire, basé à Québec, est muni de deux canots pneumatiques à coque rigide dédiés aux interventions de sûreté maritime de même que d’un zodiac, qui sera utilisé lors des opérations de recherche et sauvetage.

Caractéristiques

Type
Patrouilleur semi-hauturier
Longueur
42,8 m
Largeur
7,3 m
Tirant d'eau en charge
2,85 m
Déplacement
267 tm
Puissance
4 930 kW
Vitesse maximale
25 noeuds
Vitesse de croisière
14 noeuds
Équipage
14
Constructeur
Irving Shipbuilding Inc., N.-É.
Construction
2012