Fisheries and Oceans Canada | Pêches et Océans Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Canadian Coast Guard Fleet - Quebec Region

CCGS Martha L Black

CCGS Martha L Black - Click to enlarge CCGS Martha L Black
Source: Canadian Coast Guard


The CCGS Martha L Black is known for her versatility, that allows her to offer marine support to the regional programs. Her primary mission as a buoy tender is to lay, recover and service buoys using her heavy lifting boom, whose maximum lifting capacity is 20 tons. She also carries out fixed aids maintenance and reconstruction operations.

The vessel's AC/AC propulsion system with cycloconverter and special bow enable her to conduct icebreaking and ship escort operations in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and on the St. Lawrence and Saguenay Rivers, as well as in the St. Lawrence Seaway.

The Martha L Black was overhauled a few years ago to ensure that she can effectively carry out scientific missions in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence. As well, she is regularly assigned to search and rescue operations because of her manoeuvrability.

The vessel is also assigned to pollution response operations and fishing monitoring activities. She is equipped with a helicopter deck. Although the Martha L Black is based in Québec, she can be deployed anywhere like all other Coast Guard vessels.


Characteristics

Type
Light icebreaker - Major buoy tender
Length
83 m
Breadth
16,2 m
Draft
6 m
Full charge displacement
5 028,8 tm
Power
5 250 kW
Maximum speed
15,1 knots
Cruising speed
13 knots
Core crew
25
Builder
Versatile Pacific Shipyards Inc, C.-B.
Year built
1986

Flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne au Québec

NGCC Martha L Black

NGCC Martha L Black - Cliquez pour agrandir NGCC Martha L Black
Source : Garde côtière canadienne

Le NGCC Martha L Black est un type de navire reconnu pour sa polyvalence, ce qui lui permet d'offrir un soutien maritime aux différents programmes régionaux. Il a comme principale mission le mouillage, l'entretien et l'enlèvement des bouées grâce à son puissant mât de charge pouvant supporter une charge maximale de 20 tonnes.

Il accomplie également des missions d'entretien et de reconstruction d'aides fixes.

Sa propulsion de type ca/ca avec cycloconvertisseur et la forme particulière de son étrave lui permettent de remplir des missions de déglaçage et d'escorte sur le fleuve et dans le golfe Saint-Laurent, la rivière Saguenay, ainsi que dans la Voie Maritime.

Le Martha L Black a été aménagé il y a quelques années pour répondre efficacement à des missions scientifiques partout dans l'estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent. De plus, sa manoeuvrabilité l'amène régulièrement à répondre à des appels de recherche et sauvetage.

Le navire est aussi appelé à participer à des activités de lutte contre la pollution ou à la vérification des activités de pêche. Il est muni d'un pont d'envol pour permettre l'appontage d'un hélicoptère. Le port d'attache du Martha L Black est Québec, mais comme tous les navires de la Garde côtière, il peut être déploié sur tout le territoire.

Caractéristiques

Type
Brise-glace léger, grand baliseur
Longueur
83 m
Largeur
16,2 m
Tirant d'eau en charge
6 m
Déplacement en charge
5 028,8 tm
Puissance
5 250 kW
Vitesse maximale
15,1 noeuds
Vitesse de croisière
13 noeuds
équipage de base
25
Constructeur
Versatile Pacific Shipyards inc, C.-B.
Construction
1986