Canadian Coast Guard Fleet in Quebec

CCGS Sipu Muin

CCGS Sipu Muin - Click to enlarge CCGS Sipu Muin
Source: Canadian Coast Guard

The CCGS Sipu Muin is a powerful, heavy hovercraft. She plays an essential role in flood control activities in Eastern Canada by breaking up ice-covered rivers and shores along the St. Lawrence River, where conventional icebreakers are unable to operate.

The craft is used as a buoytender in the Quebec Region, meaning that she can be called upon to lay, service and recover buoys. The CCGS Sipu Muin is equipped with a crane capable of lifting up to 4 500 kg. Her versatility and 23 000 kg payload enable her to transport any combination of cargo and passengers through areas that are not easily accessible.

Vehicles can be loaded directly on deck by a bow ramp, making the CCGS Sipu Muin particularly useful in pollution clean-up operations, since the craft is also completely amphibious. In addition, she is regularly assigned to search and rescue operations and navigational aids construction and maintenance operations.

Although the CCGS Sipu Muin is used primarily between Montréal and Trois Rivières, she can be deployed rapidly to any area under Coast Guard jurisdiction, like other Coast Guard units. Her home port is Trois Rivières.

Characteristics

Type
Air cushion vehicule
Length
28,5 m
Breadth
12 m
Power
2 818 kW
Maximum speed
50 knots
Cruising speed
45 knots
Maximum weight
70 tm
Crew
8
Builders
Westland Aerospace, England and
Hike Metal Products Ltd, Ont.
Year built
1998

Flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne au Québec

NGCC Sipu Muin

NGCC Sipu Muin - Cliquez pour agrandir NGCC Sipu Muin
Source : Garde côtière canadienne

Le NGCC Sipu Muin est un aéroglisseur lourd et puissant appelé à jouer un rôle essentiel pour prévenir les inondations dans l'est du Canada. Il est utilisé pour le déglaçage des rivières et des battures le long du Saint-Laurent, difficiles d'accès pour les brise-glace conventionnels.

Il sert également de baliseur dans la région du Québec, c'est-à-dire qu'il peut être appelé à s'occuper du mouillage, de l'entretien et de l'enlèvement des bouées. Il est doté d'une grue amovible lui permettant de soulever des poids de l'ordre de 4 500 kg. Sa capacité de chargement de 23 000 kg et sa polyvalence lui permettent de transporter une multitude de cargaisons et de passagers dans des endroits difficilement accessibles.

Il peut également transporter du matériel roulant par l'entremise d'une rampe d'accès direct au pont de chargement. Cette dernière caractéristique rend le Sipu Muin particulièrement utile lors des opérations de dépollution, car il est aussi totalement amphibie. On le sollicite régulièrement pour des missions de recherche et de sauvetage ainsi que pour des travaux de construction et d'entretien des aides à la navigation.

Le Sipu Muin travaille surtout entre Montréal et Trois-Rivières, mais comme les autres unités de la flotte de la région du Québec, il peut être rapidement déployé sur tout le territoire couvert par la Garde côtière. La base de l'aéroglisseur est située à Trois-Rivières.

Caractéristiques

Type
Aéroglisseur
Longueur
28,5 m
Largeur
12 m
Puissance
2 818 kW
Vitesse maximale
50 noeuds
Vitesse de croisière
45 noeuds
Poids maximal de l'appareil
70 tm
Équipage
8
Constructeur
Westland Aérospace, Angleterre et
Hike Metal Products ltd, Ont.
Construction
1998